Sign In

Grant Schemes and Awards

As part of our longstanding charitable mission to support ground breaking medical research, we offer a range of grant schemes.

Find out how you might take advantage of this broad offering

Young Investigator Awards Scheme


These grants are designed to provide recently appointed investigators with flexible research funding of up to £20k to perform research into internal medicine

Please click here to download the guidelines

Applicants should be clinically qualified, post CCT and in possession of their PhD.  They should be within their first five years of a substantive appointment within a UK or Irish University, or be on substantive fellowship funding such as a career development or senior fellowship award. NHS employees can also apply but it would be anticipated that they hold Honorary University appointments. Applicants should either be members of The Association, or be sponsored by a member.  Previously successful applicants are not eligible to reapply to the scheme.

Awards can be submitted at any time, and will be considered twice a year (on 1st June and 1st December) by the Executive Committee. The exact deadlines for submission for each round will be posted on the Association website. You can submit your application by completing the online form below. Please note a CV of no more than 2 pages will be required at the time of application.

Application Information; Please complete the online form.

Past Awardees
2022Applications under review
(June Round)
Vishal Patel, The Institute of Hepatology, London
(December Round)
Chioma Izzi-Engbeaya, Imperial College London
(June Round)
Elaine Soon, University of Cambridge
(December Round)
Danijela Tatovic, Cardiff University
(June Round)
Ashwin Dhanda, University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust
Roger Thompson, University of Sheffield
(December Round)
Claire Meek, Institute of Metabolic Science, University of Cambridge, Addenbrooke’s Treatment Centre
Thomas Pembroke, Cardiff University / University Hospital of Wales
Aran Singanayagam,  COPD and Asthma Section National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London
(June Round)
James Bluett, The University of Manchester
Fadil Hannan, Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Dimitra Peppa, University of Oxford
Peter Taylor, Cardiff University / University Hospital of Wales
(December Round)
Eve Miller-Hodges, Edinburgh University
Uazman Alam , University Hospital Aintree
(June Round)
William Alazawi, Blizard Institute
Neeraj Dhaun, British Heart Foundation
Michael Marks, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
Alex Rothman, University of Sheffield
Jaime Vera, Brighton and Sussex Medical School University of Sussex
2016/2017Charalambos Gustav Antoniades, Imperial College London
James Dear, Edinburgh University

Summer Studentship


These grants are designed to support undergraduate medical students interested in exploring a career in academic medicine gain experience in the research group of an AoP member.

£1,500 will be provided for each award.

Please refer to the Summer Studentships Guidelines for applicants

  • The supervisor must be a current member of The Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland.
  • Applications to be submitted by 28 February 2023 for consideration by the Executive committee
  • The decision of the committee shall be final
  • Studentships can be taken up from June 2023’
  • Successful applicants are expected to present a poster of their work at the AoP Meeting in Spring 2024

Application Information; Please complete the online form.

Past Awardees

2021/2022Viktoria Dimitrova, University of Glasgow
Matthew Lim, University of Glasgow
Ericka Maye, Cardiff University School of Medicine, Heath Park
2019/2020Adanna Anomneze-Collins, Cardiff University School of Medicine, Heath Park
Sanchita Bhatia, Cardiff University Brain Research Imaging Centre
2018/2019Laurence Dobbie, University of Glasgow
2017/2018Emily Boother, Imperial College London School of Medicine
Zoe Macqueen, University of Glasgow, School of Medicine
2016/2017Thomas Webb, University College London

Starter Grants for Clinical Lecturers


The AoP is delighted to be a funder of the Academy of Medical Sciences Starter Grant Award Programme.

Round 27 of the scheme is now closed – submission deadline was March 2022

This scheme was launched in October 2008 as a partnership between the Academy and the Wellcome Trust. Current funders of the scheme are the Wellcome Trust, British Heart Foundation (2011), Versus Arthritis (2012), Medical Research Council (2013), Diabetes UK (2016), the British Thoracic Society (through the Helen and Andrew Douglas bequest for the use of research into tuberculosis control; 2018), and the Association of Physicians of Great Britain & Ireland (2020).

The grants provide modest ‘starter’ funds to enable research active Clinical Lecturers to pursue their research work. Clinical Lecturer posts provide a salary but often do not come with the funding to support the costs of the research. This scheme was designed to help bridge this gap by providing Clinical Lecturers with access to modest research funds for up to two years. It gives them experience of preparing a research grant application and helps them establish their research portfolios by providing funding for research consumables.

For more information and to apply, please visit the Academy’s Website

Join the AoPGBI

Find out more about our memberships benefits and how to become a member.
The Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland
Association Services Ltd, 33 St James’s Square London SW1Y 4JS
The Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland

Our members area

Will be available soon
Association Services Ltd, 33 St James’s Square London SW1Y 4JS